home  |  contact us 
Organised by:

PHANTOMS Foundation
Instituto Venezolano de Investigaciones Científicas
Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Universidad Central de Venezuela
NIST Center for Theoretical and Computational Nanoscience
Sponsored by:

Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
Fundacion Polar
Interdisciplinary Network of Emerging Science and Technologies (INEST)

ICON2006 Photo
On behalf of the Organising Committee, we would like to invite you to participate at the forthcoming International Conference on Nanoscience (ICON2006) that will be held in Choroni - Venezuela during May 7 - 11, 2006.
The importance of nanoscale science is growing worldwide and it constitutes a key piece for the technological development of the nearby future and in consequence it will have a high impact in the world economy. With the accomplishment of this event we intend to promote the interchange of knowledge and scientific cooperation between the groups that are employed at Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Latin America, USA and Europe doing emphasis in five areas of great interest: NanoBiotechnology, Nanocatalysis, Nanomaterials, Nano-Optics/Nanophotonics and Nanoscale Modeling. Nevertheless, contributions in other areas of Nanoscience will also be welcome.
One of the main objectives of the ICON2006 event is to provide a platform where young researchers can present their latest work and also interact with high-level scientists. For this purpose, the Organising Committee will provide around 25 travelship bursaries to young PhD students.

Taking a natural paradise as a frame, high-level lectures and poster sessions will offer an excellent opportunity to begin scientific discussions between participants. We hope that the program of ICON - Venezuela 2006 will meet your needs.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Choroní.
Simulation of a nanosized tip over a substrate with atomic resolution.
    Confirmed Keynote Speakers:

  1. Hector D. Abruña (Cornell University, USA)
  2. Nicolas Agrait (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  3. Eric Anglaret (Universite Montpellier II, France)
  4. Remi Carminati (Ecole Centrale Paris, France)
  5. Juan Carlos Cuevas (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  6. Gabriel Cwilich (Yeshiva University - New York, USA)
  7. Fernando Flores (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  8. Antonio Garcia Martin (IMM-CSIC, Spain)
  9. Francisco Garcia Vidal (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  10. Fernando González (Universidad Central de Venezuela, Venezuela)
  11. Jesus Gonzalez (Universidad de los Andes, Venezuela)
  12. Jeffrey Hudgens (NIST, USA)
  13. Jorge Iñiguez (ICMB-CSIC, Spain)
  14. Uzi Landman (Georgia Tech, USA)
  15. Marc Madou (University of California, USA)
  16. Ernesto Medina (IVIC, Venezuela)
  17. Somenath Mitra (New Jersey Inst. of Technology, USA)
  18. Jose Ignacio Pascual (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
  19. Horacio M. Pastawski (Universidad Nacional de Cordoba, Argentina)
  20. Fernando Rey (Instituto de Tecnologia Quimica / CSIC-UPV, Spain)
  21. Jorge Ripoll (Institute Of Electronic Structure & Laser (FORTH), Greece)
  22. Federico Rosei (INRS-EMT / Univ. du Quebec, Canada)
  23. Daniel Sanchez-Portal (DIPC - CSIC-UPV/EHU, Spain)
  24. Frank Scheffold (Fribourg University, Switzerland)
  25. Todd Thorsen (MIT, USA)
  26. Michael R. Zachariah (University of Maryland & NIST, USA)
  27. Ernesto Zumelzu (Universidad Austral de Chile, Chile)

Hostal Hacienda El Portete - Choroní